Forth Worth, Dallas, Denton & Plano Resource Centers on Independent Living


Our mission is to provide services for people with disabilities so that they are able to lead self-directed lives and to educate the general public about disability-related topics in order to promote a barrier free community.

The contents of this website were developed, in part, under grants from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) and TX Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC). The contents of this website do not, however, necessarily represent the policies of HHS and TX HHSC and you should not assume endorsement by either the federal or state government.


Updated 2/12/20

Board Officers

Sylvia Hodgins, President, retired DARS-DBS vocational rehabilitation counselor and Client

          Assistance Program caseworker living in Dallas

Vacant, Vice President

Penny Acrey, Secretary, retired Licensed Master Social Worker living in Arlington

Gordon Meredith, Treasurer, residential construction specialist, City of Denton

Board Members

Rochelle Chandler, Licensed Specialist in School Psychology at Prosper ISD

Carla Forman, Board Member Emeritus, Director of Paratransit & Contracted Services at Trinity Metro

Larry Hughes, retired DARS-DRS vocational rehabilitation counselor living in Collin County

Brooke Lewis, TX Workforce Solutions-Vocational Rehabilitation Services Older Individuals

Who are Blind Program Worker in North Texas

Mary May, retired Clinical Social Worker living in North Richland Hills

Robert Petty, Disability Advocate living in Dallas County

Joe Rivas, Certified Rehabilitation Counselor living & attendant care training specialist in Denton

Sarah Rose, Ph.D., Director, Minor in Disability Studies & Associate Professor of History at the University of Texas at Arlington

Jose Santos, Firefighter/Paramedic, Dallas Fire Rescue

David Saunders, Disability Advocate living in Dallas County

Timothy Upshaw, Certified Community Health Worker at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas

Anne Wallace, LPC, Professional Art Therapist & Certified Special Education Teacher living in Collin County

Abu Yilla, Ph.D., clinical assistant professor, University of Texas at Arlington Department of Kinesiology

Emeritus Council Members

Maria Bean, inspection specialist, Public Company Accounting Oversight Board in Irving

Patt Bourland, Secretary, Program Support staff at ARCIL-IL Services in Carrollton

Julia Chalker, Transition Specialist at the Prosper Independent School District

Pat Nehr, Disability Advocate, retired UPS employee living in Dallas

Barbara Nwaigbo, Disability Navigator, ResCare Workforce Services, Workforce Solutions Greater Dallas