Forth Worth, Dallas, Denton & Plano Resource Centers on Independent Living

Announcing the 2020 Barbara Jordan Media Award Winners

Office of the Texas Governor, Greg Abbott

Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities

Announcing the 2020 Barbara Jordan Media Award Winners

The Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities (GCPD)  announced the winners of the 2020 Barbara Jordan Media Awards for media content created in 2019. Established in 1982, the Barbara Jordan Media Awards recognize the respectful, accurate portrayal of people with disabilities by media professionals and students. In response to the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic, GCPD and their partners at the Texas A&M University Department of Communication, Journalism Studies created a virtual awards program honoring the winners and highlighting their outstanding work.

The winners of the 2020 Barbara Jordan Media Awards are:

College Broadcast
Rebecca Sloane, The Battalion (College Station)
Year Two: Signing the Midnight Yell

College Print Magazine
Sarah Hoenig, Insite Brazos Valley magazine (Bryan)
Beep Baseball: Making Dreams Come True

High School Documentary
Eaglevision Film Productions, Lindale High School (Lindale)
Students Miles Hill, Braulio Navarro, Lauren Knox, Jeffrey Ptak, Jude Ratcliff, and Ashlynn Brice
Miniature Blessings: Where Community Meets the Classroom

High School Journalism
Jordan Ramsey and Jacob Choi, Eagle Nation Network, Prosper High School
Run, Mabry, Run

Lola Gómez, Austin American-Statesman
Just Like Me

Radio Podcast
Shelly Brisbin, Relay FM (Austin)
36 Seconds That Changed Everything: How the iPhone Learned to Talk

Radio Broadcast (Series)
Laura Isensee, Houston Public Media
Texas Students Fighting for Special Education Services

Broadcast Feature
Walt Maciborski, CBS Austin KEYE-TV
Game On!

Broadcast Entertainment
Teresa Woodard, WFAA-TV Channel 8 (Dallas)
I’m Not Less: They have autism, and the video games they develop are hitting it big

Print Feature
Suzanne Garofalo, Houston Chronicle
Daughter of the Water

Print Profile
Megan Rodriguez, The Bryan-College Station Eagle
Bridget Frank: Facing challenges, pursuing her passion

Print News
Mary Huber, Austin American-Statesman
The Long March to Healing: One soldier’s recovery after the Fort Hood shooting

Print Magazine
Britni McAshan, Texas Medical Center’s Pulse magazine (Houston)
Shooting for Gold: An elite athlete sets her sights on the Paralympics

BJMA 2020 Welcome Slide

Watch the 2020 BJMA Video

The Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities provides GovDelivery updates for informational purposes on a variety of disability related issues for a diverse audience. Updates may include information provided by external sources. The inclusion of this external information does not constitute an official endorsement or approval by the Committee or the Office of the Governor of any information, policy, product, or service offered by an external source.

Texas Governor's Committee - People With Disabilities