Governor Abbott Appoints 9 New Council Members to the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities


White Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities Logo over blue background

Governor Abbott Appoints 9 New Council Members

Governor Greg Abbott recently appointed nine new members to the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities (TCDD), and he also reappointed 10 members who currently serve on the Council. 

The Governor appoints individuals to TCDD's 27-member board in accordance with applicable state and federal laws. At least 60 percent of Council members must be people with developmental disabilities (DD), their parents or guardians, and other immediate relatives.

Listed below are the names and hometowns of the new and reappointed Council members.

New Members

  • Ronald "Ronnie" Browning, Spring 
  • Paul Cardarella, Denton 
  • Maverick Crawford III, San Antonio
  • Randell Resneder, Lubbock 
  • Robert Schier III, Elgin 
  • Eric Shahid, Somerville
  • Molly Spratt, Austin 
  • Emmett “Toby” Summers III, San Antonio 
  • Kimberly Torres, Houston

Reappointed Members

  • Rebecca “Hunter” Adkins, Lakeway
  • Kimberly Blackmon, Fort Worth
  • Gladys Cortez, McAllen
  • Kristen Cox, El Paso
  • Andrew "Andy" Crim, Fort Worth
  • Mary Durheim, Spring
  • Scott McAvoy, Cedar Park
  • Michael Peace, Poteet
  • Lora Taylor, Katy
  • John Thomas, Weatherford

The appointments for the Council members listed above are effective as of July 1, 2019. The terms for the new and reappointed members are set to expire at various times, ranging from February 1, 2021 to February 1, 2025.

The new appointees will replace nine other members who have served on the Council for a number of years. During their service, the individuals listed below provided remarkable leadership and helped TCDD impact the lives of Texans with DD:

  • Kristine Clark, San Antonio
  • Mateo Delgado, El Paso
  • Stephen Gersuk, Plano
  • Diana Kern, Cedar Creek
  • Ruth L. Mason, Houston
  • Dana Smith Perry, Brownwood
  • Brandon Pharris, San Marcos
  • David Taylor, El Paso
  • Richard A. Tisch, Spring

The Council also includes representatives from the major state agencies that serve people with DD; a representative from both the Texas Center for Disability Studies at The University of Texas at Austin and the Center on Disability and Development at Texas A&M University; a representative from Disability Rights Texas; and a member representing local, non-government organizations.

To learn more about becoming a Council member, click here.